Home Security Systems Reviews

Over 100 Home Security Companies Reviewed

Below you’ll find who’s hot and who’s not in our home security systems reviews. Each year we review dozens of home security companies and some stand out above the rest while others trail behind. You’ll find the best home security companies for 2014 at the top of the list awarded accordingly with Gold, Silver and Bronze awards. This year’s reviews resulted in awarding FrontPoint Security as the top home security company. Click on the name of each company to view their full review. To view the full 2014 Home Alarm Awards visit our homepage.

FrontPoint Security

1. Frontpoint

Frontpoint has outstanding customer service, an excellent BBB Rating and a top of the line home alarm system with cellular monitoring. They ranked very high in our assessments of dozens of home security companies.

Frontpoint has an overwhelming amount of positive customer reviews. Home security system shoppers should give them a call and see why we ranked them as number one.

adt2ndplace

2. ADT Security

ADT Security is the largest home security company in the market servicing over 7 million customers. They have been in the home security systems market for over 130 years. They offer a vast array of services and have some great features with their ADT Pulse offering.

  • Full Review
  • Visit ADT
  • 866-518-1238
  • Professional Installation
  • Longest in Industry
  • Live Video via Phone
  • Home Automation
pa3rdplace

3. Protect America

Coming in a close second place is Protect America. They earned their spot from their Free Equipment, competitive price matching and good BBB rating. Protect America pioneered the do-it-yourself home security system model and they have an extremely competitive offering.

Call Protect America to learn more about their wireless home security systems and competitive price matching.

vivint

4. Vivint

Vivint was awarded 4th place this year due to their innovative home security and home automation systems. They have a world-class control panel and home automation features. If you are looking for a top-notch system with robust home automation capabilities then check out Vivint.

5. LifeShield Security

All around great company with a very high BBB Rating. They use their own equipment for the home security systems. LifeShield Security is a great alternative to the top rated home security companies.

6. Broadview Security

Formerly known as Brinks but is now under the ADT umbrella. You’ll receive the same service and warranty as ADT Security. Broadview Security requires a professional installation service.

Xfinity Home Security

8. Xfinity Home

Xfinity Home or Comcast’s home security offering was new in 2012. It is broadband only and carries with it hefty installation and setup fees. We only recommend cellular home security systems so Xfinity Home failed to make the best home security company list.

  • Full Review
  • Expensive Setup Fees
  • Broadband Only
  • Proprietary Equipment

Alarm Systems Reviews Award

This years award goes to FrontPoint Security for their friendly customer service, clear pricing and outstanding user reviews. FrontPoint is BBB Accredited and holds an A Rating. Congratulations FrontPoint Security for winning the 2014 Best Home Alarm Award!

Home Security Systems Reviews

Our home security systems reviews are not biased and are independently conducted. There are a lot of factors that go into awarding a company for a combination of the best security company. Dozens of companies are reviewed and ranked each year. Only the best home security companies stand out and receive awards.

Home Alarm Systems Reviews

Our goal and besthomealarmsystemsreviews.com is to provide you with unbiased home alarm systems reviews that not only save you time when conducting your research but provides you the insight you need to purchase the best home security system for your family. We review the entire company along with their home security offering. It’s a complete package since you each security company includes monitoring we look at every aspect of the company like customer service, equipment, pricing, technology, monitoring plans and warranties.

Awards

During the review process our editors rank the home security companies and their systems on many factors. In the process of ranking them several stood out in various areas.
Overall Winner FrontPoint Security
Best Customer Service Record FrontPoint Security
Best Value Protect America
Best DIY Installation Model FrontPoint Security
Best Professional Installation ADT
Best Home Automation Features Vivint

17 Comments

  1. June 3, 2012    

    Good overview, I researched a few of these home security companies and you are spot on. Do you know of any special deals, coupons that some of these guys may be offering?

    • Best Home Alarm System HQ
      June 5, 2012    

      Check out the FrontPoint coupon post.

  2. I recommend FrontPoint Security. I’ve owned their home security system for over a year now and have been extremely happy with it. I was looking to add another window sensor and found this site. I don’t normally write reviews but I’ve been really impressed with this company. I from the Houston area and crime rates are fairly high. I sleep better at night knowing that someone is monitoring my house 24 x 7. Never experienced a break in and I don’t want to but I use the system all the time especially. The coolest thing about it is if I forget to arm it when I leave from work I can arm it from my iPhone app.

  3. September 3, 2012    

    A lot of home security companies here but I think FrontPoint Security has the best home security system. When I called them there sales reps were really friendly and helped me configure a system for my home. I originally called them because of their cellular monitoring. They are one of the only companies I researched that only offers cellular. There are other companies that have cellular as an option but FrontPoint only recommends cellular because it’s the best and that’s why they carry it. I love the interactive monitoring through my Android device. Very cool app that allows me to keep tabs on my teenagers.

    Sammy

  4. September 5, 2012    

    I bought a system from ADT a while back and never had an issue with it. Had a few false alarms over the years but nothing that would prevent me from renewing my contract. THey didn’t have the cell phone access when I bought it so that appeals to me know. It would be nice to remotely disarm instead of driving back home because I forgot.

  5. September 9, 2012    

    At BestHomeAlarmSystemsHQ.com we get asked the following questions a lot, “What’s the most important ranking factor when conducting your home security systems reviews?”.

    Since we review home security companies with monitoring we spend a lot of time looking at the company in addition to their home security systems. It’s important that customers have a great experience. If you need help, you want to be able to talk to support without waiting and have a knowledgeable person on the other end of the phone or chat session. The customer experience carries a lot of weight in the home security reviews process.

    Additionally there are several factors that all stem from a positive customer experience like the home security company’s BBB rating, online customer reviews, Yelp reviews and so on. So we look at all of this information as well. The best way we found to conduct a thorough review is to use the products ourselves, speak with other customers and perform an in-depth online research to formulate the home security review. Of course this is just one part of the review process related to the home security company’s customer service we also look at pricing, monitoring plans, technology, warranty, equipment, etc…

  6. September 11, 2012    

    Great information and thanks for the comparisons. I was going to go the SafeMart route until I read the review. Looks like FrontPoint Security is the way to go. I like the geo fence too.

  7. September 12, 2012    

    I’ve been conducting exhaustive research on what home security company would be the best for my situation. I live in a not so great area in Houston, TX and there’s a chance that I’ll get called into active duty. Are there any home security companies that will suspend the monthly monitoring for me?

    • Best Home Alarm System HQ
      September 15, 2012    

      We suggest calling the home security provider that you are interested in and asking them if their contract allows for this.

  8. September 15, 2012    

    Thanks for the info. My wife and I decided on ADT Security. We know several friends who have the service and and really happy with it. Plus the their Pulse offering is really cool as far as remotely checking in on your home. Great reviews on this site. Thanks!

  9. September 17, 2012    

    Great site and reviews. Just what I needed to compare security systems. Do you know if FrontPoint Security has a professional installation service?

    JR

  10. September 24, 2012    

    I got a flyer in the mail for xfinity home security system so I decided to research it online. Good thing I did. I just don’t like the idea of having everything bundled in one. If my internet goes down then my entire home is out. PHone, Internet, TV, Security of my home. No thanks.

  11. Best Home Alarm System HQ
    September 26, 2012    

    home security reviews with monitoring

    We get asked quite often what are the main advantages of going with a home security company that offers monitoring services?

    1. You have a real person on the other end of the system that is available to respond to alerts 24 x 7 x 365.
    2. You will reduce the number of false alarms because the home security specialist will call you first to see if it is a false alarm.
    3. Home security monitoring services will allow you to save even more off your homeowners insurance.

    Those are the top three that we respond with.

    Thanks,
    BestHomeAlarmSystemsHQ

  12. September 27, 2012    

    I bought a Lynx home security system off Amazon a while back and man was it a piece of crap. It was impossible to configure and the stupid thing would sound false alarms all of the time. I finally decided to bite the bullet and get a real home security system so I ended going with LifeShield. I know they’re not ranked number one but they have a great offering for a decent price.

    Thanks, Kev

  13. October 1, 2012    

    I’ve been doing a ton of research trying to find the most mobile friendly alarm system and narrowed it down to frontpoint and protect america. Both of them have the services through alarm.com so now it’s up to price and customer service I guess. Anyone have experience with lifeshield?

  14. Helpful reviews, but...
    September 9, 2013    

    I found the reviews here helpful. But I do want to state that some of the quotes I got from these home security companies weren’t the same as the prices you mentioned here on your site. When I told them I found a better deal on your review site, they had an excuse to not match the pricing. Unfortunately this is what you can expect from home security companies now.

  15. Security companies with correct reviews and rankings
    October 9, 2013    

    I found that the rankings here make sense. I called FrontPoint Security and the were impressive as the reviews suggested, very nice sales rep assisted me there. They also weren’t afraid to point me to their reviews and have me compare them with other companies, which meant they were confident in their customer service record. I haven’t bought from them but as soon as I close on my home I will be calling FrontPoint Security.

Top Rated Alarm Companies

  1. Frontpoint - 855-800-2019
  2. ADT - 866-518-1238
  3. Protect America - 888-305-0285
  4. Vivint - 866-864-7135
  5. LifeShield - 877-723-3796
  6. Broadview - 866-860-8718
  7. Guardian
  8. Xfinity
  9. AlarmForce
  10. LiveWatch